Under the DMV point system in the state of Colorado, you could wind up with a suspended license if you collect too many points within a specified timeframe. What does that mean? In short, certain offenses, such as speeding and DUIs, have point values associated with them. If you break the law, the offense for which your charged will determine the number of points you get on your license. If you get too many points as a result of driving violations, you could face suspension or revocation of your driver’s license.
Points on License Suspension
There are several factors to point suspensions, meaning both the type of offense you committed and the timeframe since you’ve committed other offenses will be taken into account when the court reviews your total accumulated points.
If you have too many points on your license, you will be notified of a hearing date, which will determine the length of the restraint. A suspension can be ordered for up to one year and a probationary license may or may not be authorized at the hearing.
The following are license point accumulations that result in the suspension of your Colorado drivers license:
Adult Driver (21 and older)
- 12 points in any 12 consecutive months
- 18 points in any 24 consecutive months
Minor Driver (18 thru 20 years of age)
- 9 points in any 12 consecutive months
- 12 points in any 24 consecutive months
- 14 or more points between the ages of 18-21
Under the Age of 18
- 6 points in 12 consecutive months
- 7 points before turning 18
The state of Colorado doesn’t have chauffer’s license requirements (those which other states utilize for taxi and limo drivers, for example; however, if a driver proves at a hearing that they are employed as a driver and received all of their tickets in the course of their employment, they are not subject to suspension until they receive 16 points in 12 months, 24 points in 24 months or 28 points in 4 years.
LICENSE REINSTATEMENT REQUIREMENTS
- Application for Reinstatement ( DR2870) form
- $95.00 reinstatement fee (check/money order payable to the Department of Revenue).
- Evidence of Insurance showing that you are insured.
After your driver’s license is reinstated no testing will be required to get a duplicate license if your license is still valid. When you renew your license you will need to take the written test.
Examples of Colorado DMV Points
While there are many ways you could accumulate various points on your license, the following list details some of the most common ways people ultimately end up with suspended or revoked licenses:
- Colorado DUI (driving under the influence of drugs or alcohol): 12 points
- Colorado DUI per se (driving with a BAC of .08% or higher): 12 points
- Colorado DWAI (driving while ability impaired): 8 points
- Colorado UDD (underage drinking and driving): 4 points
- Leaving an accident scene: 12 points
- Speed contests: 12 points
- Evading an officer: 12 points
- Reckless driving: 8 points
- Careless driving: 4 points
- Speeding: 1-12 points, depending on how much over the posted speed limit you were driving
- Failure to show proof of insurance: 4 points
- Improper passing: 4 points
Have you started to accumulate too many points on your license? If so, you might need help navigating the process to ensure you legally have the right to drive when you’re ready for reinstatement of your driver’s license. If you need assistance getting your Colorado license reinstated contact the law office of M. Colin Bresee to schedule an appointment.